Post TT Races at Colas Billown

The Colas Billown circuit acts as the book ends to the TT festival; opening with the Pre TT Classic and closing with the Post TT Races. First run in 1991 it has had some notable winners including Joey (11 wins), Robert (2 wins), William (8 wins) and Michael Dunlop (1 win). Ian Lougher has also eleven wins to his name and Chris Palmer has ten

The pre-race favourite for each of the three races was Jamie Coward, fresh from a highly impressive TT. It was rumoured that he and his team had been out celebrating on Friday night and was a little worse for wear on Saturday. If true, good for him, it would have been thoroughly deserved, the celebration not the head ache!! Whatever the reason Jamie did not turn up for practice on Saturday afternoon leaving the way open for others to take the spoils.

Each race had two practice sessions, first off was the CuPlas Callow 600cc class, followed by the Manx Independant Carriers 250/650cc class and finally the Colas 1100cc class. The second practice session was a repeat of the first. Although the road was dry, the cloud base was low and the air was cooled by the breeze. It threatened to rain with the odd few spots but in the main it stayed dry. The first practice was headed by Colas Billown newcomer Mike Browne (600 Kawasaki) from Nathan Harrison (Chris Preston / Quayside Tyres 600 Suzuki) with Rob Hobson (675 Triumph) in third. The best of Mike's six laps, was 104.045 mph, just 0.016 of a second faster than Nathan's. The tables were turned in the second practice with Harrison taking pole position with a lap of 104.685 mph, 0.622 of a second ahead of Browne with Hobson third. Browne had been an impressive newcomer at last years MGP and was equally impressive at last weeks TT. He is definitely one to watch.

Next up was the 250/650cc practice, Dave Moffit (650 SCR Kawasaki) topped the session with a lap of 96.994 mph followed by Anthony Redmond (650 Reds Kawasaki) and Rhys Hardisty (Yamaha) on the sole 250 in the race. The conditions deteriorated when the second session took place so the starting grid was made up from the times from the first session.

Last up was practice for the Colas 1100cc Race, Rob Hobson (1000 BMW) lead the way from Ryan Kneen (Charmer Builders 1000cc BMW) and Mike Browne (600cc Kawasaki) in both sessions. Rob set the fastest practice lap of the afternoon in the second session with a lap of 109.953 mph from Kneen's 107.621 mph.

The weather improved and the crowd swelled for the evenings races, the 600 and 1100 races held over 8 laps and the 250/650cc race over 6 laps. Sixteen riders filled the grid for the CuPlas Callow 600cc Race, initially it was a three bike battle between newcomer Mike Browne, Rob Hodson and Manxman Nathan Harrison. Harrison went out on the fifth lap leaving Browne and Hodson to fight for the spoils. A great ride by Browne gave him a winning margin of 7.207 seconds from Hodson with Rhys Hardisty (Reps Motorcycles 600 Yamaha) in third. Fourteen of the sixteen starters finishing.

Mike Brown (600cc Kawasaki) heading to victory in the CuPlas Callow 600cc race

Nathan Harrison (Chris Preston / Quayside Tyres 600cc Suzuki) at Ballabeg

What the Manx Independent Carriers 250/650cc Race lacked in quantity was more than made up for in quality. Dave Moffitt (650 SCR Kawasaki) and Rhys Hardisty (250cc Yamaha) had a wheel to wheel race long duel. Moffitt lost out by 1.6 seconds after going wide at Castletown Corner on the sixth and final lap. Hardisty collecting his second win at the Colas Billown circuit within two weeks, after his Pre TT Classic success. Gavin Brown came home third on his 650cc Kawasaki.

Rhys Hardistry (RH Racing 250cc Yamaha) accelerating along Duck Street

Dave Moffitt (650cc SCR Kawasaki) over shooting at Castletown Corner

The final race of day and for the TT Festival was the 8 lap Colas 1100cc Race. Another fantastic race ensued with a race long duel between Rob Hodson (1000 BMW) and Ryan Kneen (Charmer Builders 1000cc BMW). Ryan set the fastest lap of the race at 111.090mph but Rob won the race by the just 0.279 of a second, a blink of an eye. Mike Browne completed the final podium place on his 600cc Kawasaki. This concluded another Post TT meeting, as ever the meeting was run effectively and efficiently. The S100 Club are now focusing on the 64th running of the S100 races in less than 30 days starting on Monday July 8th 2019.

Rod Hobson on his victorious 1000cc BMW

Ryan Kneen 1000cc BMW rounding Castletown Corner

Photographs by Mike Hammonds

Mike Hammonds