Susan Jenness Trophy WINNER 2016


The TT Supporters’ Club is delighted to announce that Maria Costello is to be the recipient of the Susan Jenness Trophy for 2016.

  Her fastest lap of 113.128 mph, set on lap 2, and a race time 1 hour 21 minutes 12.595 seconds at an average of 111.504 mph saw her head home well over half of the race finishers as well as securing a bronze replica

In a Mountain Course career which began in 1996, Maria has forty finishes to her name including two 3rd places, the 2005 MGP Ultra-lightweight and the Classic 250 MGP of 2011.

Maria had to fight off stiff opposition to win the award, in particular from Chrissie Clancy, who as passenger to Mick Alton became the fastest ever sidecar female newcomer at a speed in excess of 108 mph and Fiona Baker-Milligan, still the fastest female passenger, but now at 110+mph.

The Susan Jenness Trophy is presented annually to, in the eyes of the TTSC Executive Committee, the female competitor considered to have made the most meritorious performance at that year’s TT.

The trophy commemorates club member, Susan Jenness who lost her life some years ago whilst marshalling an off-road event in the UK

Pictures of Maria by Mike Hammonds

Graham Bean

TTSC Press Officer / Magazine Editor